Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all. i'm new to these hydralic brakes, so i need to get a bleed kit for my brakes (hayes stroker ryde).
i've found several different kits online, ranging in price from a couple dollars to thirty+ dollars.

is there really any difference in these kits? the biggest difference is, some come with several of the adaptors and some don't.
i guess what i need to know is, does the $3 kit have everything i need to bleed my brakes (assuming i have nothing to begin with)?

cheap kit:
http://bike.com/hayes-bleed-fitting...uct&utm_medium=CSE&utm_campaign=GoogleProduct

expensive kit:
http://www.cswestbikes.com/servlet/the-16080/Hayes-Brake-Bleed-kit,/Detail

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
good idea!
but being my first hydro brake setup, i'm going to stick with a commercial kit, as there's less ways to screw it up lol.

·
Registered
389 Posts
formula (avid-style) kit works on stroker trail - more below

i read a number of threads prior to bleeding my friend's brakes. he did it a number of times and continued to have issues, so i offered my completely amateur expertise as i just bled my formula oro k24's (kit is good on all formula brakes made since the oro). i tried the hayes brand bleed kit and felt it was somewhat difficult to use. not so much the bleed kit but the design (1/4 turn on the caliper screw, tubing over the screw, etc.).