Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I've been reading a few of the threads here regarding clipless vs. flats because I have been riding flats and am having a hard time keeping feet on the pedals. Here is a bit of history:

I rode bikes as a child, mix of road and BMX. Road bikes always had clips, BMX had flats. I would say I was a more proficient roadie than BMXer back in the day. I started riding MTB when they first started to get popular in the late '80's (I was in my late teens) and always rode clips. If I recall, most (at least higher-end) MTB's in those days came with clips and most of my riding buddies removed them immediately. I did a little XC racing, but preferred technical and flowy singletrack, which required climbing (usually in FS and logging roads) before descending the singletrack. I was known as a fast climber back then and as I look back, I can attribute a lot of that to being one of the few that rode clipped in. I remember that riding singletrack while being clipped in (old-school clips) was a bit scary at first, but I adapted and soon felt very secure, locked-in and very much "at one" with my bike while clipped in.