Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy MTBer's !

I'm new to the MTB scene, so please forgive me in advance about my lack of bike/technical specific knowledge.

I recently purchased from my LBS a Haro Flightline hardtail. My goals for riding are, as a beginner anyway, some street and light to moderate trail. I wanted a bike that would fit my current needs, but also to give me something to upgrade as I developed a more advanced riding skillset.

The salesperson at the LBS showed me, among others, the above mentioned Haro Flightline.
It has a 20" dropdown 6061 double-butted oversized aluminum frame, and for me, at 5"10 and 170 pounds, the bike had a good geometry and feel to it on my test ride. It was discounted, according to the salesperson, to $499 from the original $699 as a 2008 closeout. The price seemed about right for what I wanted to pay, so I plunked down the cash, eager for an early Spring afternoon ride.

My receipt identifies the bike as a Haro Flightline Trail, and the frame is badged as a "Haro Flightline TRL Trail." Upon researching the Haro catalogue, however, I'm having trouble identifying the model of bike that it is. It doesn't appear in the 08 or 09 catalogues. It seems to be somewhere between a Flightline Sport and a Comp.
I'm including a list of specs for the bike and askiing for help in not only identifying the bike model, but also any advice as to what I should consider upgrading:

RST Gila Pro with preload adjust and lockout. Shimano Alivio 8 speed Easy Fire shifters.
Shimano Alivio front and Deore rear deraillers. Ritchey butted 6061 handlebars. Ritchey wheelset. Hayes MX-4 mechanical disc brakes. Avid FR5 brake levers. Pivit seatpost, Kenda Komodo tires. WTB Speed V saddle. Wellgo platform pedals. Haro 6061 double butted aluminum frame, sort of a lime green in color, but not Haro Shamrock or Tucson sage per the catalogue.