Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been riding mountain bikes for about 8 months. now. I barely ever see anyone riding hardtails. I ride a specialized hardrock. and the rest of the people I ride with are mainly riding scapels and other high end full suspension. What is the reason for the lack of hard tails?

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Flat rock park columbus Ga, intermidiate. some easy parts. good climbs. one rock garden. I'm planning on trying some others in the area.

·
Registered
602 Posts
A bunch of people in my local club have a hard tail in their stable. Some I never see on anything but. I've seen a Litespeed, a Weyless, a Pugsley that I've seen ridden on the sandier trails and a variety of other more common HT frames from GT to Specialized. I myself ride a Trek HT, but in my case it's because I can't afford more than the one bike.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
my hard tail specialize hard rock sport disc is my first real mountain bike. before i used to ride the walmarts. but it just weird that all I see if FS bikes. maybe it is a status thing. lol

·
Banned
19,198 Posts
Many ride FS for the comfort . Riding a HT will make you a much better rider , if you ever switch to a FS ride you will kill it with your HT skills .

·
Registered
39 Posts
In SF here I'm the only person with a FS... Then again this is city riding.
I will never go back to a hardtail without a suspension seatpost. It never felt right having the front plush and still getting butt pounding.

·
Registered
70 Posts
I have a stable of bikes, two of which are FS. However, I almost always ride an HT. The FS are comfy but I'd rather climb on an HT and I much rather race with one. The only time the FS bikes come out to play is on some specific rides. (one is for sale in fact since I don't need both)

·
Content from my avatar
4,355 Posts