Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are some good hardtails in the 500-1000 range im a beginner but want a bike thatll last at least 5 years

i need to know what to look for in a hardtail

i want a hard tail thats between 20-30lbs and has disc brakes thats about it oh yeah and good suspension

thanx in advance

·
Registered
28 Posts
Bicycle Magazine reviews

In the last issue of Bicycle Magazine they reviewed all price ranges. Mountain Bike Magazine is normally sent with it has the MTB reviews only.
On this Forum its who you talk to and its like car brands, Chevy, Ford, etc. Its all up to who had a Lemon or who had a Diamond.
I learn toward GT or Specailized just because that is what I own. GT I have owned different models for years, and in one of those magazine one of the GT did real well for its price range at under $1000.
Look at other threads and allot of people asked the same question so look at some and see what we all say .
Also your LBS "Local bike store" might be your best bet because they offer service after the sale and Mailorder or Road trips can be a hassle to get a warranty item fixed.
My LBS changed main brands 3 times and owners twice, so I was screwed on the warranty and free tuneups and all that comes with it.
Just get what you like and to have one for five years is another question. You will probaly want to move up in a couple of years to a different one or like me replace or rebuild parts until you get a Harem of bikes that you just can't part with.

·
Registered
3,773 Posts
mgomez41 said:
What are some good hardtails in the 500-1000 range im a beginner but want a bike thatll last at least 5 years

i want a hard tail thats between 20-30lbs and has disc brakes thats about it oh yeah and good suspension

thanx in advance