Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Looking to get a hardtail for the collection. Any comments on the ride differences between these materials? Obviously there are a lot of additional factors to consider so this is more of a theoretical question. Assuming four equal bike designs/frames, except the material they are made with, how would the ride differ?

Bob

·
Formerly DMR For Life
989 Posts
Al --> lightweight, stiff
Steel --> compliant, short fatigue life (relative)
Ti--> Compliant, longer fatigue life
Carbon --> superlight weight, can be design to be compliant and stiff

you also have to consider use too

DMR

·
Premium Member
8,002 Posts
It's all how the material is executed, what the bike is made out of tells you nothing about how it will ride.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Hi guys, Forgive me for going off topic.

I am new to mountain biking. My roots were as a BMXer back in the 80s until about 1990 or so. Back then everything was made out of 4130 chromoly. I seem to remember it being a light, strong steel. Now, I don't hear anything about it at all. Why is that? I just bought my son a freestyle bike, and it weighs about 38 lbs! My Diamond Back that I raced weighed about 22 lbs.

At the end of my BMX career, titanium was starting to be used, but it was very expensive. Now there is aluminum, and carbon fiber, as well as hi tensile steel. Back then the hi-ten steel was a less favorable option to chromoly. Now it seems that chromoly has disappeared. Is this true or am I misperceiving things?

·
Registered
82 Posts
personally I like ti

All materials have their specific qualities but, titanium is magic. I have ridden aluminum and steel hardtails and like titanium the most. Less harsh on the longer rides, light and stiff.
Go ti.

·
Sweep the leg!
3,804 Posts
bigchromewheelssuck said: