Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm kinda new at this... The last time I bought a bike that was more than a BMX bike, I was in 6th grade (1992)
I'm looking at the 'less than $700' Specialized bikes.

Rockhopper Disc
Hardrock Pro Disc

I was told that with my weight (close to 3 bills) I should be getting something with a lockout (which I have no idea what that ACTUALLY is, but I assume it locks the front suspension out from moving). I should also consider disc brakes to stop me (again, no idea about these... are there pads involved in disc brakes? When they say 'hydraulic brakes' are they really fluid activated like a car? are there containers for the hydraulic fluid?

I plan on using the bike about 80% on the street and 20% or less on grass and dirt.

I don't really understand the differences in the frames or components either.
Component wise, the two units seem similar

Differences
Frame
RH - M4 manipulated alloy frame, butted ORE DT, forged dropouts w/ replaceable 98954020 alloy hanger, disc only
HR - A1 Premium Aluminum, double-butted, ORE DT, externally relieved HT, reinforced disc mount, forged dropouts w/ replaceable 98954020 alloy hanger, disc only

Fork (I have no knowledge of shocks. We were all still riding hard tail and hard forks when I stopped)
RH - RockShox Dart 3 SL, 100mm, 28.6mm Cr-Mo stanchions and alloy steerer, magnesium lower, coil spring, reb. adj. w/ lockout and preload adj.
HR - SR Suntour SF7-XCM-HLO, 100mm, 12": 80mm, 30mm Hi-Ten stanchions and steerer, coil spring mcu w/ preload adj., hydraulic LO, spring assisted seals, custom paint/graphics, disc only

Handlebars (not sure what this means)
RH - Specialized alloy 31.8mm XC rise, 620mm wide, 8 degree back, 8 degree up sweep
HR - Specialized alloy 31.8mm, Enduro rise, 640mm wide, 8 degree back, 8 degree up sweep

Pedals (not sure which is better...)
RH - Steel cage, composite body, 9/16"