Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got some miles in on my 9Iron, the sickness has begun to takeover me and tell me I need to upgrade already. (I worked in the industry for 12 years or so, been about 10 yrs removed.) I am looking at carbon riser bars, I see people online going 760-780mm but not sure if I need to go that wide, I'm a 38" chest, not that wide at all of a guy, so to me that seems excessive.

Looking at some Truvativ 680mm, the stock bars on my bike are are roughly an inch smaller. I'm not bombing massive hills, going crazy since 33 years of skateboarding has taken it's toll and so has 40 yrs on and off on a bike. Suggestions?

·
WillWorkForTrail
4,989 Posts
I suggest you buy a bar that's wider than you think you want, and ride it some at full width, slide the grips in a little, try a little narrower, and maybe even try it as narrow as you think you want. I'd be willing to be you'd settle on at least 720. Something to consider.

The widest bar I had prior to my most recent bike purchase was 730 on an XC bike. My single speed has a 690 on it. After riding my new bike a couple times (it came with 780s) I was about ready to have those cut down, and the mechanic at the shop asked me to give it another month or so. I did, and now I'm looking for wider bars for my SS, and the 780s are staying as they are. I probably won't go to 780 on the SS because it's a different bike, but 690 isn't going to cut it long term for me.

·
g=9.764m/s2
808 Posts
The general rule has been long stem/narrow bars - XC: short stem/wide bars - Trail. Then it comes down to comfort. My shoulders are close to yours and with a 40-50mm stem I prefer 760 bars... better for narrow trails as well.

·
Registered
1,390 Posts