Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
valgal
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ride and race xc (sport class) I'm trying to get in a more optimal race position. I've had a professional bike fit done and was told, if I want a bit better performance to drop a spacer or two from the handlbars. I have a 100mm stem with 6 degree rise. After I dropped out only one spacer, it seems now that my arms are way too straight and putting extra stress on my shoulders and mid back. I don't have that natural, relaxed bend in the elbows anymore. So, my question is, should I just put the spacer back in, or change the length of the stem, or both, or just put it back to the slacker position it originally was and make do since it seemed like it wasn't such a bad position to be in?? Help racer girls, it's driving me nuts.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
How much time have you spent riding since you made the change?

I'd ask the person who did your fitting what their intent was. I mean, obviously it was to get you lower, but maybe they were thinking you need to bend forward more at the hips, lower back, something, if your arms were already at the right angle. What in particular led to that recommendation? Because it seems like if you were comfortable before, it's going to take some adjustment to get used to the new positioning. Which may be better in the long run for race efficiency, but would take a while to get used to, I'd think. And it would be best to know what the new and improved body position is supposed to be.

·
valgal
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·