Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This pain isn't numbness or cramping. It is more of a blister feeling where the "balls" of my hands rest on my grips. I hope that makes sense.. At the bottom of some rocky, rough descents, I have to stop and shake my hands out as if I were riding full rigid.

I use ODI Rogue lockons, I wear full-fingered gloves (no padding), I ride an alloy flat bar.

I think it is simple enough to say that my grips just hurt my hands. I have been riding them for 7 months or so and that has been the case. Ive thought about switching to a carbon bar to reduce trail chatter and that might help.

Would switching to a grip that spreads out the area of contact help too? I'm thinking Ergon but I dont seem to have the symptoms reported by most Ergon users.

Any thoughts?

·
Premium Member
7,147 Posts
Make sure that your brake levers are lined up so that your wrist is pretty straight when on levers and not bent putting weight on lower palms. Grip the grips instead of leaning on them. Could try a riser bar, or stem with more rise, or add spacers under stem to get some weight off arms and onto legs/saddle. Rogues are some of the best grips out there and I've tried ergons and didn't like em but it seems many do. Sit ups and hyperextensions will help with middle body strength so that your hands/arms aen't doing all the work of holding your upper body. Maybe the dual density rogues, which help absorb impacts and vibration, are to thick for your hands? Tire pressure too high? Saddle too far forward or tilted too far down?

·
Tool
1,973 Posts
I would focus more on the bike geometry/setup than just the grips themselves.

Getting your handlebar higher and/or closer to you will relieve some pressure on your hands. This may or may not be a viable option for you.