Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
holymtb
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding a Hammerhead 100X - Titus Racer-X for the past six years. I broke the frame and I'm looking to transfer the parts to another frame. I used the bike for some racing and general fast XC singletrack and fireroad riding. I tend to use my Knolly Endorphin for more technical rides. The Knolly is built with a 36 in front and CCDB in back so it's my light AM ride.
My current Hammerhead set up includes a Revelation 100-130 fork, Industry nine/Stans Arch/Nevegal Small block 8 (summer) Nevegal (winter). I run a Fox RP23 in the back that gives me 4 inches of suspension in the back. Bottom line the bike is very fast and very nimble, yet it can handle rough trails.

I'd want to use the Revelation 100-130 on the Ibis and run the bike in race/fast trail bike setup. Lots of climbs, both technical and fireroads. Would probably want to use the Lopes linkage as both the Hammerhead and Endorphin are stiff frames.

Concerned that I
a) might be getting too much of an AM bike with 140 in back. I might want to use this bike for races or marathons.
b) Handling will not be quick/tight enough
c) Weight as compared to other options with less travel- Flux, Trek EX, Ellsworth Truth, Racer-X, Motolite.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

·
The Crow
946 Posts
I think I am qualified to answer this one. I've owned a Alu RX (and ML) and have raced a Carbon RX. I LOVED it. Every second of it. The razor sharp handling, the way it shot to speed, agility, weight, stiffness and it's ability to carve up trails and punch above it's weight (or should I say travel) class.
But the 100mm was a BIG limiting factor for me. It couldn't cope well enough with drops and jumps and bigger roots. So although I loved it I was constantly demoing and looking for a bike to fill the need. The problem with most 140mm bikes was:
1. Extra weight when climbing
2. Higher BB
3. Slower handling