Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am a newbie to GT Bike and currently is looking for one. The major reason to my interest to the GT avalanche is the low stand over height for my wife. With some online searching, I am extremely confused with the different frame construction to the Avalanche. There are models currently on the GT bike official website with straight top tube while there are photos I can see the Avalanche with curved toptube. Can anyone help me understanding the difference? Can I get less than 25.5inch standover height with the small curved top tube Avalanche?

·
Registered
58 Posts
I don't know what specific model you're looking at but sometimes small frames use a curved top tube to increase stand over height. You should really go to bike shop and try out different bikes because stand over height on similar sized frames vary from manufacturer and bike design.

·
Never trust a fart
4,471 Posts
The models with the curved top tube are sized Small and Extra Small. Its only done that way for those 2 sizes for increased stand over height for shorter riders. Mediums and the larger sizes have a straight top tube.

Your best option is to visit your local GT dealer and try them for sizing. Too many variables to size you over the internet.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am the first time user to attach photo on this forum. Hopefully, it works out. The GT Avalanche 1.0 frame.jpg is the model I referred to the curved top tube. The GTW Avalanche 2.0 Disc XS.jpg is the current model download from the GT bike website. I am interested on buying the 1.0 frame jpg as the side view suggest the standover height is lower than the 26inch wheel! Am I logical? What's the model and year of the first jpg I posted? Thanks very much, Newbie.

Attachments

·
Registered
104 Posts
Hello arronchoi,