Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would like to hear some arguments that would favor a tubular set up over a tubless set up for gravel grinders. I have plenty of experience with the tubeless set up, and like the ability to repair in a remote gravel area, so why consider a tubular set up? I have litte experience in this area. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

·
Harmonius Wrench
8,254 Posts
Tubular tires would only be more of a mechanical/logistical problem, as far as I can see. In terms of performance, it is going to vary dependant upon where you ride. In Iowa, yeah.....maybe. In Kansas in the Flint Hills? No way! Flint tears up a tire like a hot knife through butter as it is, and with tubular casings being fabric and not all that tough, you would be looking at a "when" the tire would get destoyed, not an "if" the tire would get destroyed.

Logistically it comes down to whether you have the space, or "want to" to cart around a spare tubular. Tubulars eat up a lot of space, so if you are a minimalist, or space is a concern, tubulars will cramp your style a bit.

Also, there is the whole removal/re-installation thing in dusty/dirty environs. Probably not conducive to getting a secure seal on a rim.

I would opt for tubeless with a tube back up and a patch kit for really long events. Bring a zip loc to throw your tubless valve stem into in case of a repair, and bring a rag to wipe up with due to the sealant mess. (Been there, done that)

In events like the DK 200, where flint rock is like knives, I just bring a tubed set up right off the bat, although you can certainly do tubeless there if you want. I just would rather by-pass a near certain mess due to a flat. At least for that place. :D

·
Cheesiest
1,615 Posts