Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding Mountain Bikes pretty intensively since 2014.
I currently own two Full Suspension Mountain Bikes, one is with shorter travel 120/120 for XC/Trail riding, and the other has a bit more travel 137/150 for more Aggressive Trail/Enduro riding.
Now I'm strongly considering getting a Road or Gravel bike. I've never owned or even test road one before, so I know nothing about them.
I was thinking to build up a custom one with my LBS, but not sure what frame to use for my build.
Should I be considering building something like Specialized Diverge with Two Wheelsets, one for Gravel and the other for Road riding? Or should I be looking at something like the Specialized Roubaix with primary Road Wheelset and Secondary Gravel Wheelset?
The third option would be just to forget the whole Gravel category and use my shorter travel 120/120 Mountain Bike for offroad riding and focus on a good road bike?
I'd be very curious to read an explanation on how different would be these two bikes with the same road-purposed wheelset and tires on the road and and with the same offroad-purposed wheels and tires on the dirt.

Appreciate any help or input in advance!

·
Registered
189 Posts
A gravel bike IS a road bike, so it usually makes a better road bike than a road bike makes itself a gravel bike. It really depends on what your gravel is as well. Some areas of the country it's pretty smooth. Some areas it's dirt, rocks and sand called gravel.

There's a few in betweener bikes like a Giant Defy or Trek Domane that are good road bikes that do 38 mm tires without a hassle. But depending on your size, preference and local riding conditions 38 may not be enough.

An Allied Echo sounds made for what you are talking about since it has some adjustability and reviews say it can do a bit better than the 40 mm tire clearance as advertised.