Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Any must-have accessories?

I would like to get new pedals but not sure i want to try clipless yet.

Also, I kinda want some high rise bars. Any advice/suggestions?

·
Registered
315 Posts
Pick up a chain guard. It looks like you've already got a little scratch. If you ever plan on selling it, you don't want that area to be all beat up.

Congrats- ride and enjoy!! Upgrade your pedals when your ready. As for the handlebars, if you were fit at the BS, you may not want to change your geometry.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Coop. Where is the scratch? And can you recommend a chainguard or are they allt he same? I'm still new to this so I am a bit lost on some things.

The bike shop didn't "fit" me per say. They do have a special kit and computer software to fit road riders. As far as me, one of the guys just went out to the parking lot and watched me ride around and make suggestions and seat adjustments. I rode an F5, 29'er 4 and the F4. I just wanted to see if a high rise bar would make it a littel more comfortable. Not that it uncomfortable now, just trying different things.

·
MTBR Member
3,008 Posts
The scratch is above the A in Dale and as far as chain guards go I think that they are all pretty similar. Mine happens to be a lizardskins one or you could rig something up...just saw a post about this check a little down the beginner page. You might want to also pick up a small hand pump that you can mount on the bike and a spare tube or two in case of any flats out on the trail. Enjoy the new bike.

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
Coop29 said:
Pick up a chain guard. It looks like you've already got a little scratch. If you ever plan on selling it, you don't want that area to be all beat up.

Congrats- ride and enjoy!! Upgrade your pedals when your ready. As for the handlebars, if you were fit at the BS, you may not want to change your geometry.