Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Sorry if the title threw you off, but that was the first thing that came to my mind when I started adding up all the receipts from my recent mtb purchases over the past few months.

It started with a entry level FS bike, a 2013 Trek Fuel EX5 at a great price. I bought my bike just as the 2014 models were coming out and feel I got a great price. If i would have waited any longer I would have only had smaller or larger frame sizes to pick from.

After that I first bought new handlebars and grips.
Then a new seat.
Shortly after I bought new pedals.
Then I needed new shoes to go with my pedals
bought another seat, still experimenting.
Getting comfortable at this time I started riding some steeper terrain...
okay, time to upgrade the brakes !! (Shimano XT)
oh, I forgot new tires and tubes... yes, I bought those too.
another pair of gloves or two
new mtb shorts
another set of handlebars, wanted to try something different.

The bug has bit, started riding again about five months ago and since then it's all I can think about. I'm at the bike shop every week stocking up on Gu and energy bars, drooling over parts and bikes I can't yet afford.

What a fun addiction.... getting outside and exploring new trails and territory every week. 15-20 mile rides on my days off and coming home just as dirty as can be to a cold beer and then right back on the internet to look up what part I should buy next.

Thanks for reading my rant. Loving this site and having such a great time talking to everyone I meet out on the trails.

·
Vincit qui patitur
745 Posts
Welcome to the club.
I've been riding for about two years and am looking at another bike. My fourth.
I also have a Jeep (just empty every pocket)
MTB is the same.

·
Registered
32 Posts