Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
biking is fun
2,365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the helmet cam thing and figured starting with a GoPro Hero HD would be a good place to start.

few questions before i let my wife pull the trigger for my christmas present.

1. regular or wide angle? Im guessing wide but don't want to buy the wrong thing

2. What would be good editing software for it? does it come with some or will i need to buy some?

3. anything else i should know? ill eventually get a HD camcorder for regular filming but figure a helmet cam will be a good place to start and learn how to edit and to have fun with.

·
Registered
531 Posts
I have the Go Pro Hero Wide (not hd) and it's a great little camera. I currently have the Contour 1080p HD and I really like the adjust ability and the super easy record slider button. To answer your questions:

1. Wide angle, you see more of what's going on and it reduces shake in the video.

2. You'll need editing software. I use AVS Video Editor which isn't the most advanced but it does everything I need it to do. $60 for the download and you get 6 or 7 other cool programs. Windows movie maker or iMovie on a mac will work too I believe.

3. Mounts are important. If you get the GoPro get the chesty mount for sure. If you go the Contour route get the universal 1/4" mount adapter and the ultra clamp or one of the Ram brand mounts. Multiple angles makes for more interesting video.

They are both great little cams, with the GoPro you have the benefit of being completely waterproof right out of the box. With the Contour 1080p you have greater adjust ability and IMO easier use in the field as the GoPro's menus can be a bit cumbersome at times.

·
Now with More Wood
2,964 Posts