Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My tubless larsen TT are about done, ready for a new set of tires on my specialized epic. I think these make an awsome XC tire but looking for something more suitable for the local phoenix trails: T100, mcdowell mtn, south mountain etc.. Anyone recommend a good set of XC tires, either a set or mix match (front and rear)? Thanks and happy holidays!

·
Registered
655 Posts
I've been running a 2.55 WTB Weirwolf front on both my squishy 29er and rigid 26" SS, love it on both bikes. Geax Saguaro on the back of the 29er, WTB Exiwolf on the back of the SS. Again, love them both. I've been running these combos for 4 months all over South Mountain and McDowell. They're fast on XC trails, offer great traction climbing, and work well with low pressure for bouncing off rocks. Running with slime tubes, they have held up very well. I've ripped the side knobs off Nevegals after just a few rides, most likely my fault and not the tires, but they did work well also.

·
Pivotal figure
6,361 Posts
Nevegals can be a bit soft for sure, the dual compound thing. Another good option would be a Maxxis Ignitor. They roll fast, have good grip and wear very well. Just wish Maxxis would get their prices a bit more realistic.

·
Registered
231 Posts
I just put on a set of 2.35 Hutchinson Piranhas and they seem to work very nicely. Can't comment on longevity yet, but grip very nicely.

·
"No Clue Crew"
2,459 Posts
kenbentit said:
Nevegals can be a bit soft for sure, the dual compound thing. Another good option would be a Maxxis Ignitor. They roll fast, have good grip and wear very well. Just wish Maxxis would get their prices a bit more realistic.
X2 ran Nevegals for a few month and had nothing but problems due to how soft they are. Maxxis makes a few good tires. If you're AM I'd go with a Ardent.......Drew

·
Registered
655 Posts