Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey hey...

So I just picked up an '06 Identiti frame at a steal, and I want to convert to SS. I'm running 24"s.

Right now, I have a 36H Halo Combat rim in white, and I would like to get a dedicated SS disc hub, 135mm with a 10mm thru axle (3/8ths). It's got the QR combat hub now; it sucks balls, and I don't want a QR hub on a SS.

What would you guys suggest? In other words, what's your call on the best performing, least expensive, dedicated SS hub, 135mm with a 10mm TA? I don't care about weight right now, and I'm keeping my front 20mm hub (it's a red line, sucks I know, but it's ok for now).

·
SuperInstigator
2,169 Posts
Yo! said:
Hell yea brotha!

$36 is what I'm talking about....

Next best thing was a Surly at $90....

How do these two compare?
Dude...the Odyssey driver mechanism is great...I've got a Odyssey Hazard v2 2 piece driver and a V3 1 piece 10 tooth driver hub and both are holding up great. Both are loud too...if you care. If the Nashbar hubs are anything like the Odyssey ones, they're bombproof. :thumbsup:

Can't go wrong in my opinion!

·
SuperInstigator
2,169 Posts
A Grove said:
I see 49$ not 36$. But either way, heard great things of these hubs, will be picking one up in a few weeks for my new wheelset.
Haha that's nashbar for you! Buy one quick before the price goes up to 62$ in 15 minutes!!!

·
dirt rules
3,050 Posts
Damn, they were $35 when I posted that!
Don't know much about the surly hubs... I do know that the nashbar is very easy to maintain, very solid, has sealed bearings, and will accept a driver. (You'll need a new pair of bearings too) I don't think it can be beat if you can catch the price at $35 again.

·
Bikes Rule
1,133 Posts
Profile is the absolute best, but very $$. Hope Pro II is also extremely great, but again pricey.