Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Jeremy,

I have seen a few different handlebar or stem-mounts for smart phones with GPS, ect. Be careful though, as the shock generated by MTB may permanently damage your phone. I have not seen one yet that will hold a phone securely and prevent, shock-induced damage.

Just don't want you to destroy a $700 smart phone.

Best of luck.

·
Registered
11 Posts
I am fairly new to mountain biking but I can give you advice on this. I would put it in a bag or somewhere else (I put mine in my Hydrapak, just like someone recommended in the earlier post).

I was biking with friends and a friend of mine and he had his in his bike, when he crashed he also cracked his phone screen. I use to do the same thing until I saw this and bought a cyclo computer and put the phone in my bag. I usually don't look at my phone until the very end of the day but if I really want to I can stop and pull it out. My cyclo computer tells me how many miles I'm doing real time.

Hope it helped a bit.

·
Registered
4,199 Posts
I have a Quad Lock mount for my commuter bike when I use my iPhone for navigation and it works very well. They also make a case for the Galaxy and there is also a "rain coat" available to go with the case. I can't comment on durability of a smart phone on a mountain bike as I use a Garmin for that purpose.

·
Registered
1 Posts
When I ride trails with my girlfriend we use these Trident S4 Kraken Cases. The rear of the case is modular (is that the right word) and can be changed out with a few different options. It comes with a kickstand, but when we ride we change them out to a handle bar mount. Its an awesome set up actually, the case is a bit more than both of use would normally use during the day but the case comes off fairly simply and the mount never leaves the ride.

*Forgot to mention, ours are for the Galaxy S4, but i would assume the same model is around somewhere for your monster sized Note 3

·