Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
parenting for gnarness
6,251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Saturday I was riding my bike home from the gym, stopped at the light at McKellips\Power. This is a photo-radar intersection, one of the worst in Mesa for accidents. I stood for a full red light on the curb waiting to cross in the crosswalk when the light changed. When I started riding, a car pulled in front of me into the 2nd lane to turn right. So, they saw me enough to not turn right into me, instead choosing to run me over 10 feet further into the road. I threw the bird, cursed so loudly that I got the attention of several drivers who had their windows open. As usual, nothing I could do but crap my pants, and the driver never even looked up.

Anywho, today I called the Mesa PD traffic div and asked if they could spot the violation on the photo radar. The officer (tech?) worked with me for about 10 min reviewing the film, and while he could not find anything, I wanted to shout out to him for spending the time.

I'm going to try harder to call in incidents like this when there are good odds I can make something happen. I know of nothing else we can do to protect ourselves and not be in violation of the law. A month ago a similar thing happened and the driver parked and went into a store...that should be a situation where I should have hung out and called the police.

·
Registered
350 Posts
This is good reason for helmet cams. You could have captured the whole incident as well and license plate. Is this what society has come to. Record everything or else it's your word against theirs. :madman:

·
Break it, Fix it, Ride it
1,940 Posts
Big Brother for the little man. And I thought it would only lead to oppression! Catching idiot drivers sounds like liberation! Bike is Peace.

Hopefully there wont' be a next time but.....better luck next time.

·
Powered by ice cream.
6,359 Posts
chollaball said: