Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
shining bright
368 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding seriously for about the past 2 months, and I am having all sorts of trouble with flats in my tube tires. I'm on a hardtail 29er and it has been suggested to me to try tubeless. I have a pair of used Geax Seguaro tires, some steel bead WTB tires, and also one Kenda small block 8 tire. My rims are mavic 719s.

I read up on some of the Ghetto tubeless articles and I think I may try it.

The biggest issue to me is my weight. I am at 225 on the scale at home, so probably about 235 with all clothes and riding gear on. Who has succesfully run a tubeless setup in this weight catagory and how did you do it? I don't have much money to put towards it, that's why I was looking at the ghetto way. I saw some recipes for sealant and using a tube as a rim strip and all. I'm not sure exactly how all of it works. I might try it on one wheel first and then maybe do the other if It works okay.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I am (now) almost exactly your weight. I have been running tubeless since about June 2010 when I got a new 29'r. I'm running a Stan's setup on Stan's flow rims and Kenda Nevegals. (Yes I know Kenda does like Stan's inside their tires.) I have had very good results. I burped a tire a couple of times when I first started running tubeless. Once I cranked the pressure up to 25 - 30 I've had very good results. Most of the problems I've had have been when I got side wall cuts on sharp rocks or a BUNCH of thorns that was just too much for the Stan's to handle.

Some buddies have been running the getto tubeless and seem happy with it. For the time/effort required I would try the cut up inner tube for a rim strip and valve stem and use Stan's liquid. Save having to find, mix, store, etc. the liquid.

·
Genius
936 Posts