Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After 12 years in the Navy, my family I are calling it quits and moving to the Denver area. I know with the economy this is crazy, but we have been planning and preparing for almost a year. The scary thing is that the movers just came and picked up our stuff yesterday, that is not the scary part, the scary part is that we are just going. No job (yet), no house, just a general area that we know we are going to. We are going to be looking in south Denver (englewood, littleton, Highlands Ranch, etc.) Renting for a while until we get our feet under us.

I have been applying for jobs for over six months. I have had probably about 15 interviews, but no offers. It is hard looking for jobs over the internet, so I think I will be more successful once we get there. If I am not able to find any work, the GI Bill will be my savior. I will apply to grad school and have it paid for with some extra money for housing. But this doesnt start until August.

I have been looking at this forum (Colorado Front Range) for the last year, scoping out riding spots and just trying to get a genral idea of the scene there.

We are looking forward to the move, very nervous, but optimistic at the same time. If it wasnt for my wife, we would probably still be in the military, she is very optimistic and thinks everyone will work out.

Give me some good feeling vibes, if there are any out there. What have some of you seen as far as the job market is concerend in the area? Is there any riding down south for weekday rides in the Littleton, Highlands Ranch area? And lastly, anyone looking to hire someone out of the Military?

Thanks guys,

Jason

·
now in superlight!
130 Posts