Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I bought my first full suspension bike yesterday (2 year old Giant AC2) and had a great ride on it last night. The only thing that needs attention is the rear shock!, it's a lot more bouncy than any full sus bike I have tried before (Whyte 46,Spec Epic).

As I'm a suspension noob I'm not sure if this is a characteristic of this bike/shock or not, and I'm not sure whether there is a way to tweak the rebound damping or not. The shock is the original Rock Shock Deluxe Pro and I weight about 170lb(85kg).

The bike is in mint condition for a 2 year old bike so I know it hasn't been abused, but I don't know how long shocks last before they need a service . I don't really want to go out and shell out £250 on a new shock either, I would like a cheaper way to sort it out :)

Please heeeeeeeeeeeelp

Oh ... and I no idea how to set it up either :/

Cheers

Matt

·
Team Cspine
492 Posts
Wild guess...

I'm going to a guess that you picked up one of those killer deals on that dark blueish '03 AC2? My buddy has one to.

If I remember right, that has a Manitou Swinger or something real similar BUT the key is that the shock probably has NO AIR in it!!! Stop riding it before you damage it!! At least that's what a shop mechanic told me anyway.

Those were shipped with no air in them with the intent that they be setup propery when someone bought the bike. You should REALLY find a shop who can help you set it up properly or at least download the instructions and make a stab at it yourself.

Either way get some air in that shock!

·
Registered
8 Posts
well the AC AIR is the only model i recall coming with an AIR shock.. However if its a Coil over you can put a heavier oil in the shock to slow down the rebound.... it super easy and even a noob can do it! If it is indeed an AIR shock dont mess with it... Send it back to have it serviced if need be..

·
"El Whatever"
18,889 Posts