Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm looking at buying a new bike for ~$600. I've been looking seriously at the Gary Fisher Tassajara and the GT Avalanche 1.0 Disc and have test ridden both. Is there any major reason to go with one or the other? What would you view as pros/cons of each bike? I'm a newb, so any advice would help.

Thanks,

T

·
Registered
204 Posts
click here

In this price range IBEX is a very very stong competitor. Sadly they are web only. Bit of a leap of faith there.
I think that GT went tits up. I could be wrong.
The GF Tass is nice - did you want disc brakes?

The number one thing that will enhance or take away from your enjoyment is fit.

Things to think about after finding some bikes that fit you well.

1) What am I likely to want to upgrade first? Is that part better / worse on one of your choices?
2) Buy a bike that has clipless pedals. You will eventually want them and it is a ~100-200 upgrade.
3) Componentry and the fork are the most expensive parts on the bike. That is where you are going to get your value. Check the reviews here to see what others think.
4) Frame material can make a big diff in weight, learn the differences but do not put too much weight on the frame asa deciding factor.

·
MTB Rider
3,007 Posts
Pacifica vs Trek ...

Terminator3 said:
Hi All,

I'm looking at buying a new bike for ~$600. I've been looking seriously at the Gary Fisher Tassajara and the GT Avalanche 1.0 Disc and have test ridden both. Is there any major reason to go with one or the other? What would you view as pros/cons of each bike? I'm a newb, so any advice would help.

Thanks,

T
GT was bought out by the anti-christ of bicyles, Pacifica (along with Schwinn). These folks are only interested in you before the sale. After you've bought the bike, you're on your own. GT is considered to be junk now.