Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok,

So here goes, I have been riding for 10 months off and on. I am looking at buying a new bike. I currently have a Trek 8000,

I am kicking the idea around about a Gary Fisher HIFI PRO.

Anyone tell the pros or cons to this bike besides what i have seen in the ads.

I don't want to spend more than 4K and looking at a full sus 29

Thanks
Cherry (I crash alot)

·
Always Learning
9,608 Posts
azrod68 said:
Ok,

So here goes, I have been riding for 10 months off and on. I am looking at buying a new bike. I currently have a Trek 8000,

I am kicking the idea around about a Gary Fisher HIFI PRO.

Anyone tell the pros or cons to this bike besides what i have seen in the ads.

I don't want to spend more than 4K and looking at a full sus 29

Thanks
Cherry (I crash alot)
With that budget, you can just about snag any full suspension 29"er (outside of the lightest weight XC race trim fully bikes - Superfly 100 and Epic Marathon) and in my opinion is a very realistic budget. Whether you buy a full kit or get a frame and do a build from the ground up, you can buy a lot of bike with $4K. Turner Sultan (with the trail build kit), Niner JET 9, Lenz Leviathan in 3" or 4", Kona Hei-Hei 2-9, Titus Racer X, Salsa Big Mama, Specialized Epic Comp, etc.... all would be able to come in within your budget.

Have you had a chance to test ride a HiFi? That would be the ideal way to find out first hand. I test rode the 2008 and 2009 HiFi bikes, but not the 2010. I liked the bikes and was pleased with the improvements over what I already owned from Fisher which is a 2004 Sugar 293 (a predecessor of the HiFi). Good warranty from Fisher/Trek and nice LBS support certainly are pros of going with the HiFi. Once you get used to it (a few rides), the bike will also be a lot more forgiving and help you with your confidence and technique over the Trek 8000.

BB

·
The Duuude, man...
3,537 Posts