Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Ladies - looking for some advice and tips to overcome something thats been holding me back from progressing since I started riding mtb a year ago.

And that thing is... getting my front wheel off the ground - on both flat ground and especially when the ground points up, for log obstacles and rock steps.

I can get my wheel up and over anything thats about 15cm high half the time - anything more than that and my co-ordination/bike handling/brain rebels and I need to get off and step over. Its even worse when going up hills, and then I can't even manage to get my wheel up onto logs or rocks less than 15cm. I love a good climb and the local trails are absolutely littered with log obstacles, rock steps and log ramps - so having to get off and walk these is really holding back my progression :mad:

I approach the obstacle in attack position, at walking speed, compress the fork and then unweight the wheel. If I do this on a mild uphill it feels like im going to fall backwards.

I am guessing mastering a wheelie is the trick to getting over these obstacles when the trail points up... (Had no problem doing wheelies and manuals up and down the road when I was much much younger - why isn't that a skill you get to keep forever!! :madman:)

Can anyone give me some pointers? am I doing something wrong? I would really like to get on top of this :) Thanks!!

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks rangeriderdave - I have watched heaps of youtube videos, read a few mtb skills magazines and also been to an intermediate skills course (which got me to the stage of being able to get my wheel up and onto and over the smaller/less tricky obstacles on the trail) The problem with all these is that each one uses a different technique to get the wheel up, and I have tried them all - I just can't seem to get anything to work for me. Its really frustrating me.

·
Dudette