Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have been riding on and off for a few years and am not much more than a beginner myself. My husband was showing some intrest in biking with me so we set him up with a used Stumpjumper and hit the trail. Well he was kind of ummm slow even by my standards. I just kept ending up way ahead of him without really meaning to and had to wait for him to catch up.
Yes, these were very simple trails. He said he had fun so no loss, but I was wondering what the best way to ride with someone newer than you is? Should I let him go in front to set the pace or should I just keep waiting? If I go behind him should I wait for him to do the hills first? if I go as slow as he does I will fall over. I dont want to injure the male ego too much, I might have to start doing my own laundry... Any tips?

Thanks in advance

Megan

·
No more slogans!
79 Posts
Horrors, beaten by a girl! I hear ya sister... Ride behind him next time and let him set the pace and you'll be able to help him out and give him pointers because you'll see how he rides. Just how much advice you give him without deflating his ego is your call. But everybody improves with time, even men...*snort* (o.k. I'm kidding for all you lurking men).

·
nobody
490 Posts
scubaklook said:
Hi,

I have been riding on and off for a few years and am not much more than a beginner myself. My husband was showing some intrest in biking with me so we set him up with a used Stumpjumper and hit the trail. Well he was kind of ummm slow even by my standards. I just kept ending up way ahead of him without really meaning to and had to wait for him to catch up.