Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Banned
1,372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been on a bit of a hiatus from biking seriously the last few years, mainly due to other hobbies, projects and sports, and recently started getting back into it. I've been riding on and off since 1992, have raced XC and DH, worked in shops, and have been on MTBR forums on and off since 1999.

Last time I was paying attention around 2010 or so, back then 650b was a bit of a joke with poor parts/tire availablity, and 29er's were sort of starting to pick up some traction in the industry. Now, it's like I woke up in an alternate universe - every XC bike is 29", and 27.5" being pushed hard in the trail riding market. 26" is still clearly the only reasonable choice for DH/DJ.

I've seen LOTS of fads come and go, lots of poorly engineered products, and changes mainly for the sake of it being different and making the customer spend $$$ join the new standard.

Personally, I still ride 8-speed and have no intention of changing, so you can see where I'm coming from.....but it's on a 7" travel bike (fsr) with disc brakes and air suspension.

Anyway, does anybody know how 27.5" wheel are playing with the general public buying bikes in the say, $500 to $3000 range? How are sales? Are people buying into the marketing hype that a 1/2" tire radius increase is a noticeable difference? Or do they just not care?

·
Registered
513 Posts