Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi from Australia,

can anyone advise me for a mate of mine who is wanting to buy his first MTB. He's keen on a 29er hardtail which i think is a good thing as he's quite tall and mostly interested in covering a lot of ground via dirt road/firetrail.

he's also quite taken with the notion of singlespeed ( i'm sure God invented gears for a reason!).

i've suggested that it might be easier to learn basic MTB skills on a geared bike and then convert to SS, but admittedly i'm not sure he wouldnt be better just to start as he intends to end up anyway.

thanks in anticipation,

Dave:

·
Registered
235 Posts
As a noob myself, I would have to say gears unless everything is totally flat.
Can he barrow a bike, put I in a gear close to what the fixed would have and leave it there for the day? I tried this, and around here I found out I would be walking/pushing almost as much as riding :(. But southern Indinana is lumpy where I'm at.

·
Registered
6,762 Posts