Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at SS. I bought my first SS last May. Since we have a **** load of huge climb here, I started with 34 22 then changed to 34 20 I am now riding 34 18 but this is freakin hard now.

I am interested to see what others are riding?

Dan

·
Registered
921 Posts
During good weather I use a 33x17 but have switched to 33x20 for winter riding. However, we've had too much snow here in Illinois to ride at all so my bike sits all clean & lonely in the garage.

·
rbtm member
888 Posts
Dan001 said:
I am new at SS. I bought my first SS last May. Since we have a **** load of huge climb here, I started with 34 22 then changed to 34 20 I am now riding 34 18 but this is freakin hard now.

I am interested to see what others are riding?

Dan
32x20 on my 29er seems to give me just the right amount of "this is impossible" where I ride.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Out here in western Oregon, the climbs tend to be ~3000 ft on five-six mile climbs. Most folks are using 34/20 while some others are using 34/21, 32/20. Mine is a 34/21, and I have a background of being a spinner, and just don't have huge muscle mass.
I am fairly new to SSing, but have 20 yrs of MTBing behind me, after 15 yr of spinning along on road bikes before that. I wouldn't want a taller gear for this area. I'd like to keep my knees.

·
190lbs of climber
1,542 Posts
mashing uphill here

cmatcan said:
anybody know what gear travis brown usually runs? i heard he runs some insane tough gear. whats the hardest gear youve ever had on your ss? easiest??
38x16 on my SASS. I can climb almost anything, in fact my fastest climbs are on this bike--though that may be because it is rigid therefore more efficient. I have found that as long as I can get the pedals to turn over, it doesn't really matter how heavy I gear. It does make tech climbs hard.