Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine, who still rides a nice looking Klein Adept, told me the other day that the non-compete agreement that Gary Klein was dealt when he sold the company to Trek had expired and that he was getting back into building bikes. Does anyone know if there is truth to this?

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So it may be more like a folding up of the Klein tent all together?

·
Registered
442 Posts
I imagine that he will either try to retain the name or since Trek has bought and diluted the brand, come out with a new brand. Its ashame, back when I started riding in '87 there wasn't much aluminum around. Cannondale and Klein were some serious eye candy. Especially with some of the paint jobs on the Kleins.

·
2,548 Posts
bikewrench said:
........back when I started riding in '87 there wasn't much aluminum around. Cannondale and Klein were some serious eye candy. Especially with some of the paint jobs on the Kleins.
Hmmmmm, opinions are opinions ;) .... imho, the much revered old-school Klein paint jobs looked like elf vomit, to me. Sorry, I'm a simple, monochromatic kinda guy ;).... hehheh j/k, ...mostly ;)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Gary made some of the very First Welded Aluminium frames while at MIT, in the mid 70's.

Gary Klein also holds the patents for the welded Aluminium tube, the butted aluminium tube and several others.

Also, remember most of the Klein product from the 90's was under Treks watch. They really didn't start to fall down until the last couple of years. Maybe it's a good idea for them to go away for a year, regroup and relaunch.

·
Registered
277 Posts