Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
728 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm selling my Polar 720i and buying a garmin edge 305. It looks to have all the features of a 720i + GPS.

I've been using the 720i for 2+ years and I like the Polar software - so I'm wondering about the ease of use for the garmin computer and software.

any feedback on the garmin is appreciated!

·
Registered
25 Posts

I have used it for about 8 month now and it works great..but here is what my cons are. No total elevation data, you need to recharge the battery every 12 hours of use. Ticks me off when I forget to plug it in and get on my bike and it's dead. No quick charge. Bar mount housing is suspect to the 305 ejecting from it's housing mount (off road) that's why I wear mine on my arm. But with that being said...Your going to like it..

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Polar 725 user

I've been using a Polar 725 for nearly two years and recently got an Edge.

I prefer the Polar software's graphs (much more flexible) over Garmin's, however there seems to be a lot of third party software for the Garmin being developed (SportTracks, etc.), so that may change.

I plan on keeping my Polar and using it for swimming and indoor exercise equipment, and I think it would be worth the effort to write a filter (both file formats are published) to convert the Garmin history file into the Polar .hrm.

I only plan on using the Edge's wheel/cadence sensor on my road bike (mileage numbers from the GPS are good enough for the trails I ride for mtb'ing), and this eve I did a 20 mile hilly ride with both the Polar and Edge sensors mounted. While both wheel sizes have been set the same, the mileage numbers and average speed differ slightly. I also got interference which caused both heart rate numbers to go bonkers for awhile, so those numbers are off. I'll spend more time looking at the data to see where they differ, but otherwise I plan on removing the Polar sensors before my next ride.