Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm new to this GPS game (in fact I haven't gotten mine yet - xmas), but I have a pretty basic question.
I'm looking into map software for my new vista hcx and trying to decide between topo 2008 or the new 24k sd card version for my region (Colorado). Are there limits to the 24k version? It doesn't seem as though I can look at the maps on my computer and plan a course. Can I upload someone else's track onto my unit and still see it over the 24k map?
I'm sure this all common sense once you've used one or any other software out there, but I haven't yet, so please excuse my ignorance!
Thanks in advance.

·
since 4/10/2009
33,562 Posts
1. Yes, all the extra detail takes longer to display on the GPS screen...draw times are slower. You will be swapping memory cards if you want map data from other states on road trips or somesuch.
2. Trip planning is better done on a computer. It's not so practical to do that on the GPS receiver itself.
3. Yes, you can.

·
Registered
974 Posts
There are free maps out there if you look. Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Wyoming, Idaho, Utah...these are 1:24:000 and seem to work well. Here's a link to the Colorado one:

http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/maps/view/2/

I agree with what NateHawk says, much nicer to trip plan and so forth on the computer.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
free maps matchup to garmin maps?

Thanks for the info guys.
Yeah, I looked into the free 24k maps and will probably go that route. Is it better to have topo 2008 already loaded to overlay the 24k maps onto?
One bonus of the Garmin brand 24k maps is that, from what I gather, they have the City Navigator included in them. So once I get the bike on the roof I can actually get to the trailhead (I get lost in my own backyard). That way I'm not spending even more duckets to get that feature.