Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been offered two bikes.
I am very new to full suspension.
Both bikes have been offered for the same price to me through craigslist
First is 2011 spec camber comp
Second is 2007 trek ex 8

Should I go with the older one? Obviously it has a better spec of components.
Is the camber superior though cause it's newer or has suspension design changed that much in the past four years.
In the event I cannot test ride both. Can anyone offer some advice on how they differ feel wise.
Here are the two-bikepedia
BikePedia - 2007 Trek Top Fuel 8 Complete Bicycle
BikePedia - 2011 Specialized Camber FSR Comp Complete Bicycle

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
Tough one. Trek still has Top Fuel variations as their flagship FS XC race bike. But suspension designs sometimes get tweaked from year to year.

I'd do some homework on it - has Trek changed their linkage much? Did people have breakage problems? And, do you want a racing bike?

Since the Camber is a new line, I'm not sure if I'd consider it a "safe" choice either. Although Specialized has been making full suspension bikes for a very long time, and it's not so different from all their others. The Camber is more of a trail bike. It'll be more forgiving and more stable on descents, but you may not be able to get it up singletrack climbs or through corners as fast.

My instinct is to go with the Trek, unless that particular one is really worked or your further reading turns up a lot of people having problems breaking the linkage.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My instinct is the same - but mostly for the fact that it has more adjustability in the suspension.
Honestly what holds me back from the Camber, is the brakes and the Fork. drivetrain components aren't a real issue to me, the suspension is what really gets in my pocket if I want to upgrade to something with more adjustability. And how can I have fun on the descents if I can't make it up the switchbacks.