Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! This is my first time in the forums, and I am fairly new to mountain biking. I will be buying my first real bike in the next few months. I had previously decided to buy a Giant Talon 5, which sounded like a pretty good beginner bike. But as I took a look at the trails I will be doing, I am not sure the Suntour fork will handle, and I heard they are not that good. So, I was trying to find bikes with better forks, in my price range, which is up to $700. I found a Kona bike, Fire Mountain 2013, which had Rockshox forks and mainly Shimano components. I also found a Fuji Tahoe 4.0 which also has Rockshox forks. So, my question is, are these brands good compared to Giant, Specialized and Trek?

These are the links:
KONAWORLD
Fuji Tahoe 4.0 Bike Red/White | Fuji | Brand | www.PricePoint.com

Thanks!

·
Registered
11 Posts
They're both fine brands. It is worth keeping in mind that low-end rockshox forks such as the xc28 on the kona are not going to be a huge improvement over suntour, you're likely going to want to replace either one if you start riding seriously. THere's no information about the fuji you linked as far as I can see so I can't say much there.
Overall, I don't know that I could say one is better than the other between the giant and kona. If one is cheaper I'd go with that one and use the savings to replacce parts as they break or become inadequate for your riding.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Both Kona and Giant are in the same price range, 550-600 $$. The only improvement I noticed in the Kona are the breaks and the fork. Not sure if it makes much a difference... Thanks for your answer

·
I like pie.
585 Posts
. So, my question is, are these brands good compared to Giant, Specialized and Trek?