Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Novice/intermediate rider looking to upgrade back to an FS. I'm really not that knowledgeable about components, geometry, etc; please help to educate me.

I've kind of narrowed it down to these two bikes. Done some reading, and had a conversation in my LBS about them. Looking for more insight. The spec sheets mean nothing to me, as I don't know the technical differences between the components.

I ride all single track, do a decent amount of climbing, and the associated mild downhill on the return, and some mild technical sections. I'm really not a super aggressive rider, speed is not my thing, I'm not racing either.

Can you guys differential the characteristics of these bikes? Is one of them more suited toward me than the other? I have no experience on 29ers but I'm kind of reluctant to move to one because I've been given the impression that they're good if you ride fast (which I don't) and can sometimes be less nimble in technical sections. That's why I've also picked the Remedy 650b, seems like it might be a happy medium. LBS told me that the remedy might be too much bike and travel for my riding style. I'm also concerned with the OEM weight of the bike. Anyone know which would be heavier of the two? I don't plan on mod-ing either bike at all.

I know that I need to go out and ride these bikes at the shops, I'd just like to know what I'm sitting on before I do so. Thanks a lot in advance. Any input is appreciated.

·
Registered
91 Posts
My 2 cents...ride em both, then pick the fuel lol.

Based on what you wrote above about riding style...of the two bikes I would agree with your lbs. The remedy isn't the best fit. The fuel is going to be the better climber, and even with those big 29er wheels it is nimble.