Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been enjoying my second hand Karate Monkey for a couple of months now, actually, this old camp stove green girl has become like a best friend. I rode another old English type bike with the vintage Mary style bars on it and REALLY liked the hand position. So I did a little research and decided to get some On-One Mary bars.

After looking high and low, the only decent place I could find that had black ones in stock was On-One in the UK. So I placed my order, only to find that my US bank blocks all credit card transaction from UK companies due to increased fraud.

Sooo... I decided to keep looking for a good handlebar and came across the Misfit Psycles FU-Bar, and ordered me one up. Evidently my bank has no problem with Canadian companies. I presume my new bars are on the way, but I was wondering if anybody has actually used them and what they thought of em.

Jerry

·
I'm just messing with you
5,423 Posts
I've had a set on two different singlespeeds for about a year. I like them a lot.

You're probably going to want a little longer stem, +20mm worked for me.

Attached photo compares hand positions of the Fu-bar on a 120mm stem vs an EA50 on a 100mm stem.

Attachments

·
Is that Bill rated?
440 Posts
A little late . . .

As you have already purchased them. I have two pairs in regular use, one on my commuter where I love them - hands down my favourite commuting bar ever - one on my
Pugsley where I am 90%. I find for general singletrack they are transparent, as in I never notice them. For descending they are also great, but I find myself wishing they were wider when climbing. I do ride SS so that may increase my desire for leverage relative to a geared rider's needs.

·
Registered
760 Posts
I wrote a review in the general forum a month or so ago. Go have a look with pictures.