Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is the first wheelset I've bought - so I'm a relative wheelset newbie. Looking through this forum, it seems that there are several things to consider when purchasing a hub: weight, points of engagement, how well it rolls/, and maintenance. And cost, of course! :)

That being said, I'm looking for a moderately light disc wheelset for my wife in the $300-350 range. The FSA XC300 is the first choice that is jumping out, but I'm also looking at possibly some Hopes or any other suggestions. The XC300's are 1800g which is pretty light for the price. However, I couldn't find any more info on how well they engage. Does anyone have any experience with them - is it going to be similar (crappy) engagement as an xt hub?

I was also looking at a Hope XC with Mavic 717 rim wheelset. My understanding is that Hopes give you a lot of bang for the buck - with 21 points of engagement. However, if my math is right they will be quite a bit heavier than the FSAs:

Hub f/r: 200+ 385
rim: 385 *2
spokes (wheelsmith butted): 172*2
nipples (wheelsmith): 14g*64
---------------------------------------------
= 2595 g

Now, my wife is upgrading from a very light (non-disc) wheelset: Rolf Satellite hubs, dolomite rims with 20 spokes in the front and 24 rear. She is a light-weight (she'd kill me if I posted her weight :D) moderate xc type rider - no drops, and she does not race. She likes xc technical terrain and we live in the wet pacific NW.

In her mind she wants the lightest wheelset possible. However, is it more important to have better engagement than the lightest wheels? This will be an upgrade and we want something that will last. I know the two wheelsets listed are very different and appreciate any suggestions.

·
Registered
738 Posts
I put fsa xc 300's on my Anthem frame