Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my point; I have been riding for several years now…in fact I can not remember not owning a bike, but in the last few years, I have found very little to get excited about in bike design and price range. It seems as though technology is getting incrementally better while price are sky rocketing. Someone please convince me otherwise. I don’t want to be bitter and exclaim that there are not great bikes out there, because there are extremely good bikes like Santa Cruz, Turner, Titus, Ventana. (excuse me if I left some out) I met a guy at the trails the other day that didn’t want to get his brand new $4000 bike dirty. Come ON! Has it gotten to the point that these bikes are so expensive the average Joe doesn’t want to use his new ride for what it was built for. I can’t blame him either, if I just bought a decked out salty I wouldn’t want to ride it either…rather hang it on my wall and look at it like a piece of art. Where are the decently price, hell of a bike, that we can beat the crap out of like the old days? Ok…I’m done.

·
Registered
310 Posts
The high end stuff is completely out of control. The low-middle (say <$1,000) level bikes are better than they ever were. You can get a much better HT today for $500 than you could 10 years ago (unless you want steel which used to be cheap but is so rare now that it's usually expensive - go figure).

·
Premium Member
3,029 Posts
I recently got one of boutique bikes. I purchased an Ventana El Feugo (Salty's little brother).

It hasn't seen dirt yet, but that is because I'm waiting for a part, not because I fear it getting dirty.