Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be in Fruita for the first time with some buddies this week for four days of riding. Hoping to get some advice for what trails are smooth enough to ride full rigid with confidence, and what trails would be better ridden with full suspension. I bought the Fruita Trail Guide, but it doesn't really give much info as to the roughness of each of the trails, except to say there are some very smooth rides in the Bookcliffs. I've heard of the "drop in" at Horsethief in the Kokopellis, which sounds nasty, but this appears to be only a small section of the trail.

While I'm sure there are folks like "Chet" mentioned in the Fruita book who ride anything on a rigid, this is my first time at Fruita. Other factors include early season bum conditioning, moderate fitness levels, and we will be riding till we drop every day. So, looking to ride the best bike for the trail condition.

Our rough plan, depending on weather and injuries:
Day 1: Marys, Horsethief, Steves, Handcuffs, Lions
Day 2: Bookcliffs, Frontside and as many of others as possible
Day 3: Edge Loop
Day 4: TBD

Thanks for your input.

·
Des(s)ert Rat
4,961 Posts
Edge Loop is not ready. You can ride the lower parts of it, but there is still snow up top. other than that, everything should be fine. As far as the bike choices, the Kokopelli is a bit bumpier than the Bookcliffs. The Bookcliffs is absolutely wonderful on a fully rigid ss.

That said, I know an old lady that rides all of those on her rigid ss, but she's slow.

·
SNGLSPD
1,058 Posts
it all is good rigid
it all is good suspended
I usually ride a bike similiar to what the rest of the group has.
Unless you have something to prove.

The Bookcliffs/18 road is smoother than the other areas.
I plan on doing the Edge loop this week,I will post trail conditions here or check with OTE, you will not have a good time if you hit the Edge loop to soon.

·