Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
mfDB
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having troubles shifting into granny on my 2008 SJ. It does it at all times in all gears. It tries to shift, but the derailleur is just not quite going far enough in. I was a mechanic in shops for 10 years, so I've tried the normal stuff. Here is what I have done:

1) properly set limits (actually, the lower limit is all the way out for granny)
2) changed the cable and housing
3) properly set the cable tension and checked the shifter
4) checked the bottom bracket spacing (I am assuming the SJ is a 73mm bottom bracket because that is how mine was set up - 1 spacer only on the drive side)

So, is this a typical issue with the frame mounted front derailleur?
Does anyone have any tricks/tips/suggestions that I'm missing?? :madman:

thanks for the help :thumbsup:

·
West Chester, PA
5,003 Posts
mfDB said:
I am having troubles shifting into granny on my 2008 SJ. It does it at all times in all gears. It tries to shift, but the derailleur is just not quite going far enough in. I was a mechanic in shops for 10 years, so I've tried the normal stuff. Here is what I have done:

1) properly set limits (actually, the lower limit is all the way out for granny)
2) changed the cable and housing
3) properly set the cable tension and checked the shifter
4) checked the bottom bracket spacing (I am assuming the SJ is a 73mm bottom bracket because that is how mine was set up - 1 spacer only on the drive side)

So, is this a typical issue with the frame mounted front derailleur?
Does anyone have any tricks/tips/suggestions that I'm missing?? :madman:

thanks for the help :thumbsup:
Its a design flaw, the derailleur mount design places it to far to the outside. I had the same issue on mine. Some frames don't have the issue due to slight manufacturing variances. Mine was a medium by the way.

You have 2 options.