Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So a while back, I bought a set of wheels on ebay to run as a summer set-up on my 2013 salsa Mukluk. It turns out that the front hub (Paul Whub) is 135 front disc spacing and not 135 rear disc spacing. It seems if I want to run these wheels, I need a new front hub, right? If I were to get a new Salsa or Fatsno front hub, would my existing spokes work? I would have to have a shop re-spoke it as I am not experienced at wheel building. I don't really want to throw a lot more money at this. I'm open to any and all suggestions and advice.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I just did the same thing on my 2013 Beargrease and had the same problem. I purchased a summer wheel set with 616 hubs on Velocity Dually rims. I was able to make it work by drilling about 2mm out of the caliper mounting bracket so that the caliper could be aligned properly. A friend helped with it as he had access to a drill press with stops that could be set so that each drilled area could be milled down the same using a flat head drill bit. By drilling the bracket down you are able to move the caliper away from the wheel enough to get it to align properly. Attached is a pic of the bracket after the modification: Caliper Bracket.jpeg

Without this modification, my understanding is the only other option is a different fork (example: Carve Carbon) that will allow the caliper to be mounted at the proper spacing.

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks jschnelk. I saw that thread right after I posted mine. I think I will go that route as well but wouldn't 5mm need to be machined off the bracket as that is the difference between front and rear disc spacing? I don't think 2mm would be enough in my case.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Bike man sells a 5mm spacer that mounts between your hub and rotor.
It worked for me, but I did have to add 3 of the thin stainless spacers as well.

·
Registered
1,801 Posts