Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to mountain biking and just bought a Giant Talon 2 27.5 with 2.8 plus tires. I ride single track at Mt. Ashwabay up in Northern Wisconsin and sometimes the moderate downhill routes on Spirit Mountain in Duluth.

When reading about the quality of the bike I purchased the one thing that consistently comes up is the poor quality of the Suntour XCM forks. I understand that they will likely not last as long as a higher quality fork.. especially if ridden hard. And I suppose that they are heavy. But what else? Would I see a noticeable difference in ride quality if I upgraded to at least the Raidon air forks? Would it be worth upgrading while these current forks are still fresh?

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
The main thing about a coil fork is that it doesn't really adjust to your weight. There are two basic adjustments to a fork, the spring rate, which is how much the spring compresses when you sit on your bike, and damping, which is how your fork as a whole responds to high- and low-frequency inputs or "hits."

With a coil fork, the spring rate is adjusted by changing out the spring. Your spring is one-size fits all, so probably doesn't fit you, but it might.

An air spring uses air to define its spring rate, so it's adjustable to your weight.

The dampers on a fork are basically where all the money goes on expensive forks. Cheap dampers don't work very well. So an inexpensive coil fork is kind of the worst of both worlds.

Just for reference, there are high-end coil forks and shocks. They are available with a selection of springs to set the component to the rider's weight, and they have sophisticated damper systems.

A fork upgrade might be the single best upgrade you could make. It is accepted now that Suntour's higher-end offerings are good forks. But even a lower-end one would be a significant upgrade.

·
jcd's best friend
3,411 Posts