Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys/gals,

I started riding mountain bikes in 1992, and rode pretty consistently until about 1996 or 1997. I've taken the interim years since then largely off (couple rides here and there), but bought a 2003 Giant NRS-3 when it was new and promptly locked it away in my shed. Now my wife and I are looking to start riding bikes together (score!) and I am ready to enjoy the sport again.

However, I may have an all new problem or two with my bike, and not something that I even remotely expected to face. Last night when we purchased my wife's all new Trek 6500 from a local shop, we had them give her a fitment test and she came up with a 19.5 inch frame. She is 5'11" before anyone panics. However, I started to grow concerned that my own 18.5 inch frame might not be the best overall fit for me (I'm 6'0").

Today, having taken my bike down to the same shop for a tune-up, I had them do the same sizing test on me on my own bike, and they think my current 18.5" frame is too small for me, resulting in a pretty compromised seating position. They recommended the 20.5" size, if I wanted to stick with a similar bike. Naturally, I was pretty shocked by this!

Now, I grew up riding bikes in the early 90's, and I swear that I always had 18 or 18.5 inch sized frames (I've probably had about 4 bikes total since I started riding). Back then I know the size wasn't traditionally regarded as being wrong, and I definitely recall seeing a lot of high seatposts too. Has something significant changed or evolved in sizing frames for people over the last 4-5 years? Am I wrong to want a second opinion? Are people just more informed about what is considered anatomically correct now?