Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. I have noticed on my new ride which came with a Fox 80mm fork, that the downhill/ steep/ technical sections on my rides and races have become slower and not as comfy. This is my first year on this bike comig off a 5" bike last season. I am thinking of losing the 80 and getting a 100mm fork to combat this issue. All I have ever used is Fox. I do hear good things about the Reba Race. The Reba appears to have more external controls and is cheaper than Fox. Can anyone weigh in on this? Thanks

·
Registered
128 Posts
Thumbs up for the Reba

I switched from a 100 Manitou Skareb to a Reba Race mid-season last year and it was like night and day. The Reba might be .2 pounds heavier but the added comfort, control and adjustability has been totally worth it. I have no complaints about the Reba.

·
Registered
524 Posts
The Reba (not WC) is a slightly heavier fork than the Fox 100. However you get control over how the fork performs in all areas of it's stroke.

I prefer the feel of a Reba over the Fox 100's. You can't compare the Reba to a Fox 100R, RL - they're simply inferior in pedalling efficiency. The RLC comes close, however the Terra logic is more akin to Motion Control. Fox use a brass weight, which to me gives the fork a horrible on-off feel. Motion Control in conjunction with the neg air spring will allow you to set up how the pedalling platform feels so you can tune it to however you want.

I pretty much never switch Motion Control off- only for the roughest of descents.

·
MTB nut
81 Posts