Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
noMAD man
12,227 Posts
Yeah...got one.

I have an '03 Bullit...identical to your frame. I've been running a DHXA on it for at least 2 years. It works OK. The shock sucked on my Nomad but is decent for a trail Bullit. If your riding will approach really aggressive AM or light FR, this shock is not a good choice. You'd have to pump it up in the main and piggyback chambers to stop excessive bottoming which makes any small bump compliance quite harsh. Even for plain trail use, I have the piggyback volume shut all the way down to prevent the travel o-ring indicator from being knocked off the shock shaft all the time. Installing the smaller air can will help this, but this shock seems to always be compromise with the existing damping design. I also have a '99 Bullit with a Manitou 4-Way rear shock, and it is an excellent match to the long travel, high forward, single pivot. SPV damper design really works well with a bike like this.

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks TNC, that was really usefull...

but what you think about the 09´dhx air model, that has the half turn pro-pedal, and if i´m gonna hit a drop i could easily turn up, or down if i´m just pedalling around... maybe i could find a pressure that suits my riding, a compromise between AM/FR, and then according to what i´m gonna find ahead switch the pro pedal?

by the way, whats your weight?

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
I have to agree with TNC.
I also had a 06 DHX 5.0 Air on my 05 Bullit and absolutely hated it.
It would wallow in it's midstroke and bottom excessively.
The SPV Swingers perform much better. It's a great choice for a Do It All Bullit.

I also have a non piggyback Rock Shox Monarch 4.2 for my Bullit.
IMO That also outperforms the DHX Air.
It will bottom with the damping in the wide open position, but flip the Floodgate lever and it's fine for All Mountain usage.