Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to MTBR (as a member) - and I'm a 575 owner from the UK.

I've had a brief look at this forum before, but I've joined now because I need some advice and this seems like the perfect place to get it.

I bought my '07 575 on discount earlier this year - and I've got the DHX 5 Air shock on it (it was all that was left in black/carbon).

I've put a Float 32 140RL on the bike, but I can't help thinking it feels a bit unbalanced with the DHX at the back (still experimenting with rear shock. I have had a satisfactory set-up out of it - just can't find it again).

Anyway, I wanted the bike as a contrast to my Giant Anthem and Cove Handjob - so I'm getting drawn to the idea of changing the fork to a Fox 36, which I suspect may match the rear shock better.

I may have the chance to swap my almost new '07 Float for a used '07 36 Float - or I could buy a secondhand '07 36 Talas.

So I suppose the crux of my question is: Will the 36 Float be too long for climbing?

The bike will mainly be used for rocky XC at trail centres and in the mountains. I don't jump a lot, but have started to let my wheels leave the ground more often.

All opinions gratefully recieved!

·
www.obec.co.uk
97 Posts
I have an 07 575 with a 36 Van on the front. It transformed the bike completely, downhill it is superb. It has effected climbing a bit but I have dropped the height of my handlebars to counter this. A fantastic fork for the 575, even with the RP23.

Cheers,

Terry

·
Super Moderator
20,810 Posts
I recommend you go for the Talas model..... when I use a z1 light on my 575 at 150mm travel (just a tiny bit lower a-c than the 36) the effect on the climbing was really noticeable.... I compensated a bit with saddle position and loweirng the stem, but a travel adjust is a better solution IMO...

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·