Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My buddy recently bought a set of K24's & love's 'em. I want to buy a set of Formula's now to, but have a question about the K18 vs. the K24.

Does the pad in the K18 retract as nice as the K24? Reason I ask is, I really like a disc brake pad that isn't setting RIGHT next to the rotor. The K24 seems to have a nice gap, & I like that. I am wondering if the K24 is getting this gap because of the "FCS system". I like to save a buck as much as the next guy & I prefer the black color on the 18's anyway, but not at the expense of a closer pad /ie-pad rub.

So my question is, will the 18's work like the 24's in terms of pad retractment & power, just minus the FCS System, which as I understand it, only effects the lever throw?

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
FCS does not affect pad position, only the lever throw.

They should perform similarly. I may be wrong (I am no expert on Formula brakes) but they may have a differently shaped lever or different pad compounds. This would effect the feel/performance.

·
Never enough time to ride
1,577 Posts
K18's and K24's are pretty much identical to one another except for the FCS. And you are right when you say the only thing the FCS changes is the position of the master cylinder piston.

A slightly larger or smaller gap between rotor and pad from one brake of the same brand and model or different models isn't terribly uncommon, thats why the FCS adjusters and Avids contact adjuster came to be. But one thing you might try with yours if you want to try is resetting your pistons, this may widen the gap a bit, or you can get the FCS adjuster as an add on for your brakes pretty reasonably.

happy trails...

squish

·
Registered
197 Posts