1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys

Im looking at a set of rock shox Pike 454 U-turn, or 409 U-turn

or the Manttou Nixon ellite.

The pike options seems to be popular on the forum and the Nixons also fit the bill

on a budget so may even go 2nd hand off flea bay so Fox isnt an option

any feedback on the above will be well received as its my first build and first full sus.

thanks

·
Super Moderator
20,810 Posts
I can highly recommend the pike... the only difference between the pike models has to do with the floodgate adjustment and the weight of the crown... you don't really lose anything by moving to the "lower" models.... I run the air version, since it is a little lighter, but the coil models are awesome too...

I hope this helps!

·
Registered
6,294 Posts
I'm not much of a fan of the Nixon Elite. It's not very stiff, and dosn't feel that great (not the best damper). It would help a lot to know what bike it's going on, so we can recommend forks that will fit well on the bike (proper a-c, etc.).

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Both comment extremly helpfull. thanks

Current spec in procress

Spesh Enduro
5th element shock
Raceface dues XC stem and low riser
derore shifters
juicy 5 F&R
Xt crankset
derore LX mech

Mainly ride North Wales (UK). i.e mountain plus lots of mud.

·
Registered
6,294 Posts
There are lots of deals floating around on '06 forks. A Pike would be a good choice, though it's worth noting that if you don't already have a through axle front wheel, you'll need a new wheel to use a Pike. If you don't want/ can't afford to switch, a Revalation is pretty much a Pike sans through axle. The TA is definatly a worthy upgrade if you can swing it though. If you can find a deal on a Fox Vanilla, they're fantastic forks, and would be a good choice for your bike. A Rock Shox Domain would work well too, if you can find one for a good price and would like a little extra travel. Hope this helps.

·